Who we are

Medical and scientific advisory group

The Life for a Child Medical and Scientific Advisory Group was set up to support the Programme in achieving its vision that “No child should die of diabetes”. The group is composed of 26 International Advisors and 70 Country Advisors. Who will:

  • Advise on new initiatives that are being planned - e.g. reduction of misdiagnosis, management of microalbuminuria
  • Assist with site visits/assessments, and establishment of twinning/mentoring relationships
  • Assist with the development of educational resources in different languages
  • Identify special needs/new directions for the Programme
  • Advise on the development of training programmes

The International Advisors bring a wealth of knowledge that covers not only medical specialities but also science, law, social media, human rights, sport, management and supply chain expertise, leadership of international diabetes associations, and advocacy.

The Country Advisors are the ‘local champions’ of Life for a Child, and work tirelessly in their country to support children and youth with diabetes and families in need. Without their work on the ground, the Programme would be unable to continue.

The establishment of the Medical & Scientific Advisory Group provides Life for a Child with the opportunity to formally recognise a select group of dedicated individuals who make such an important contribution to the Programme’s success.


International Advisors

Dr Holley Allen

USA, Holyoke (Massachussets)

Dr Mark Atkinson

USA, Gainesville,

Stéphane Besançon 

MALI, Bamako

Dr Stuart Brink

USA, Boston

Dr Declan Cody


Dr Debra Cohen

USA, San Francisco

Dr Larry Deeb

USA, Tallahassee

Neil Donelan


Dr Deborah Edidin

USA, Chicago

Dr John Gattorna


Dr Ragnar Hanas

SWEDEN, Uddevalla

Prof Nam Cho

KOREA, Seoul

Emma Naughton

USA, Minneapolis

Wayne Edwards

USA, Tallahassee

Serge Langlois

CANADA, Montréal

Zobida Ragbirsingh

Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago

Charles Renfroe

USA, San Fransisco

Manny Hernandez

USA, Berkeley

Assoc Prof Alicia Jenkins


Prof Francine Kaufman

USA, Los Angeles

Assoc. Prof. Lori Laffel

USA, Boston

Lurline Less

JAMAICA, Kingston

Prof Antoinette Moran

USA, Minnesota

Prof Trevor Orchard

USA, Pittsburgh

Ron Raab

AUSTRALIA, Melbourne

Dr Kaushik Ramaiya

TANZANIA, Dar es Salaam

Dr Jean-Jacques Robert


Prof James Ron

USA, Minneapolis

Dr Shaukat M. Sadikot

INDIA, Mumbai



© 2018 International Diabetes Federation Disclaimer